The MEC Environmental Awards Celebration

24th Annual Event

Presenting our signature yearly salute

Please join us for the return of this can't-miss gathering of Michigan's environmental community. We'll be gathering at Detroit's Eastern Market's Shed 5 at 2934 Russell St. (See where the party and parking are at here.)


Anne & Tom WoiwodeHelen & William Milliken Distinguished Service Award Winners

Anne and Tom Woiwode will receive the Helen & William Milliken Distinguished Service Award for their collective 90+ years of visionary environmental leadership. Anne’s long tenure as the director of the Sierra Club’s Michigan chapter yielded an incredible mix of enduring protections and policies.

Just as inspiring, Tom’s service with The Nature Conservancy, Fund for the Environment, Earthshare and the Community Foundation for Southeast Michigan established and expanded our land-conservation and environmental philanthropy movements.

Read more about the award

Read our feature story on Anne and Tom

Diane CheklichPetoskey Prize for Environmental Leadership Winner

Diane Cheklich will be presented the Petoskey Prize for Environmental Leadership in recognition of her commitment to expand and protect bird habitat in Detroit. Since 2016, she has steered innovative Detroit Audubon projects that convert disused parks into meadows, support more avian species, increase residents’ access to nature and strive to restore native prairie across the region.



Read more about the prize

Read our feature story on Diane


Now in its 42nd year of operation, MEC leads a coalition of more than 79 organizations to achieve positive change through public policy solutions.




Where to park (and party)

Eastern Market is hard to miss, and lots of free parking can be found. 

  1. Set your GPS to 2934 Russell St. in Detroit. (That's Eastern Market.)
  2. Once there, use any of the parking spaces outlined here or on the photo to the right. The parking closest to the venue is located off of Russell and Wilkins streets.
  3. Once parked, look for Shed 5. It's on the corner of Russell and Alfred streets. We'll also have Michigan Environmental Council signs up.













July 21, 2022 at 6:00pm - 8pm
Eastern Market
Detroit, MI
United States
Google map and directions
Tracy Zeman · · ‭(517) 999-0419

Superior Sponsors

Steve & Judy Dobson
Jerry Jung
Hon. Rebekah Warren
Hon. Alma Wheeler Smith

Michigan Sponsors

Vivian Day
Dr. Michael K. Dorsey
Dusty Fancher
& David Kletke
Tara Smith

Huron Sponsors

Matt & Karen Cullen
  The Nature Conservancy
Lana & Henry Pollack

Erie Sponsors

Sen. Jim Ananich
Anglers of the Ausable
Joan Binkow
Janis Bobrin &
Michael Allemang
Mary C & Donald J Brown
Lisa Brush & Jim Frey
John & Patricia Carver
Paul Dimond
Ecology Center
Erb Family Foundation
Marty Fluharty
Carol Gagliardi
& Dave Flesher
Christopher &
Elaine Graham
Christine & Phil Green
Paul & Nancy Hillegonds
Tom Kinnear
Arthur Nusbaum
Mark & Suzann Ogland-Hand
Kris Olsson
& David Moran
Michael Penskar
& Maureen Martin
Petoskey Plastics
Public Sector Consultants
Steve & Robin Read
Paul Schutt
& Grace Wang
Laura & Tom Trudeau
Marianne Udow-Phillips
& Bill Phillips
Rich & Susan Vander Veen
Western Michigan University
Leonard & Margaret Weber
Emma White

Ontario Sponsors

Judy & Rich Bearup
Lauren Bigelow
Bill Craig
Martha Darling & Gil Omenn
Lois DeBacker
Tracy Dobson
& Oscar Kent
Sandy & Jerry Draheim
Stephen & Janine Easter
Tim & Tara Fischer
Elizabeth Goodenough
& James G Leaf
John & Patricia Hartig
John Hunting
Myra Larson
Bob Martel & Lisa Sessa
Bruce Martin & Vicki Nelson
Olivia Maynard
PJ Petipren
Denis Pierce
Alica Ping
John Pollack
& Allie Dorsky
Tom Porter
Evan Pratt & Ann Taylor-Pratt
Phil Roos
Cheryl Ruble
& Kevin Hvlaty
Sam & Kerry Singh
Sandra Sorini Elser
Wendi Tilden
& James Clift
Grant & Mary Trigger
Joy Whitten
& Jeff Williams