It's Back: The Environmental Awards Celebration

23rd Annual Environmental Awards Celebration

Presenting our signature yearly salute -- IN PERSON AND OUTDOORS

Please join us for the return of this can't-miss gathering of Michigan's environmental community. It will be staged on the tree-shaded grounds of Gordan Hall in Dexter. Measures will be taken to ensure it's both a safe affair and a festive salute to two champions who've long advocated to protect our waters and natural resources.


Helen & William Milliken Distinguished Service Award Winner

Frank Ettawageshik has been a wise and inspired environmental leader for more than four decades. Serving in many roles with numerous groups, he has steadfastly fought to ensure natural resources--especially Michigan's cherished waters--are treated as natures to be preserved, not commodities to be sold.

Read more about the award

Read Frank's story

Petoskey Prize for Environmental Leadership Winner

Karen Harrison is a grassroots advocate who is devoted to the well-being of the sacred Au Sable and Upper Manistee rivers. Since 2003, she has worked tirelessly on its behalf steering, organizing, and fundraising projects on its behalf that restore habitat, protect water quality, and increase public appreciation of it.

Read more about the prize

Read Karen's story


Now in its 41st year of operation, MEC leads a coalition of more than 70 organizations to achieve positive change through public policy solutions.



August 19, 2021 at 6:00pm - 8pm
Gordon Hall
8311 Island Lake Dr
Dexter, MI 48130
United States
Google map and directions
Joe Bower · · ‭(517) 999-0419

Superior Sponsors

                Hon. Rebekah

Michigan Sponsors

Anne & Paul Glendon
Trout Guerillas
Alma Wheeler Smith

Huron Sponsors

P.J. Petitpren
Lana & Henry
Leonard & Margaret Weber

Erie Sponsors

Richard & Mary
Lisa Brush
& Jim Frey
James Clift &
Wendi Tilden
Steve & Judy
Dale & Bruce
Carol Gagliardi
& Dave Flesher
Elaine & Christopher
& Phil Green
Gun Lake Tribe
Paul & Nancy
Thomas Kinnear
State Representative
Donna Lasinski
Arthur Nusbaum
Michael Penskar
& Maureen Martin
Tom Schupbach
& Kathy Songer
Brian Schwartz
Tara Smith
Tom & Laura 
Marianne Udow-Phillips
& Bill Phillips
Emma White

Ontario Sponsors

State Senator Jim Ananich
Judy & Rich Bearup
Lauren Bigelow
Janis Bobrin &
Michael Allemang
Mary & Don Brown
Tracy Dobson & Oscar Kent
Sandy & Jerry Draheim
Stephen & Janine Easter
Elizabeth & Matt Fedorchuk
Tim & Tara Fischer
Brad & Jennifer Garmon
Joseph Heringlake
John Hunting
Jeffrey Kingzett, Financial Advisor, Associate Vice President, Ameriprise Financial
Bob Martel & Lisa Sessa
Bruce Martin & Vicki Nelson
Olivia Maynard
Suzann & Mark Ogland-Hand
Kris Olsson & David Moran
Alicia Ping
Tom Porter
Evan Pratt & Ann Taylor-Pratt
Cheryl Ruble & Kevin Hlavaty
Sam Singh &
Kerry Ebersole Singh
Grant & Mary Trigger
David Waymire
Tom & Anne Woiwode