21st Annual Environmental Awards Celebration

Reserve your place today for Michigan Environmental Council's 21st Annual Environmental Awards Celebration

September 26, 2019 at 6:00pm - 8pm
Rattlesnake Club
300 River Place Dr
Detroit, MI 48207
United States
Google map and directions
Joe Bower ·

Standing up for what’s right isn’t a cliché to Rhonda Anderson and Lynn McIntosh. It’s a core value they express every day. And it’s enabled each to realize impressive triumphs to better protect Michigan’s residents and the water, air, and soil that sustain us.

Both will be guests of honor at Michigan Environmental Council’s 21st Annual Environmental Awards Celebration on September 26 at the Rattlesnake Club in Detroit. We invite you to join us in honoring these dedicated advocates.

Donate now to reserve your place!

You can also be a part of this special event by becoming a sponsor.

RHONDA ANDERSON will receive the Helen and William Milliken Distinguished Service Award in recognition of her longtime advocacy for residents in communities overburdened by industrial pollution, particularly parts of Southwest Detroit. Time and again, she has challenged powerful interests to change harmful industrial practices and respond to environmental justice concerns.


LYNN MCINTOSH will be presented with the Petoskey Prize for Environmental Leadership for her inspired efforts to blow the whistle on a public health threat. Through six years of research, she uncovered incredibly high PFAS levels in the local groundwater, which, in turn, sparked government responses to address PFAS contamination in Rockford and across Michigan.


THE HONORABLE GRETCHEN WHITMER, Michigan's 49th governor, has made protecting drinking water and fighting for environmental justice two key issues of her administration.

We are honored that she has agreed to be the keynote speaker for this year's Environmental Awards Celebration.





Joanie Binkow
Vivian Day & John Stroh III
Steve & Judy Dobson
DTE Energy Foundation
Paul & Anne Glendon
Eve & Jerry Jung
Olson, Bzdok & Howard
Lana & Henry Pollack
Conan Smith
TOMRA Recycling
Nancy Wheeler


Janis Bobrin & Michael Allemang
Mary & Dick Bower
Lisa Brush & Jim Frey
Cooperative Institute of Great Lakes Research
Detroit Metro Convention & Visitors Bureau
The Draheim Family
Christopher & Elaine Graham
Christine & Philip Green
Paul & Nancy Hillegonds
Jim & Chris MacInnes
Michigan Agri-Business Association
National Wildlife Federation
Arthur S. Nusbaum
Michael Penskar & Maureen Martin
Sierra Club
Wendi Tilden & James Clift
Hon. Rebekah Warren
Leonard & Margaret Weber


Lisa  & Jim Baker
Judy & Rich Bearup
Rosina Bierbaum
Lauren Bigelow
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan
Maria & Joe Bower
Center for Urban Responses to Environmental Stressors
Columbia Asset Management
Bill Craig
Elizabeth & Matt Fedorchuk
Tim & Tara Fischer
5 Lakes Energy
Marty Fluharty
Carol Gagliardi & Dave Flesher
David Gard & Gwen Wittebaum
Glass Recyclers Inc
Elizabeth Goodenough & James G. Leaf
Great Lakes Mediation
Henry Ford Health System
John Hunting
Indian Trails
ITC Holdings Corp
Maner Costerisan
Bob Martel & Lisa Sessa
Olivia Maynard & Olof Karlstrom
Michigan League of Conservation Voters
Michigan Recycling Coalition
Michigan Trout Unlimted
Midwest Strategy Group
C. S. Mott Foundation
Petoskey Plastics
Polly Products
Tom Porter
Evan Pratt & Ann Taylor-Pratt
Public Sector Consultants
Resource Recycling Systems
Phil Roos
Dan & Jamie Scripps
Grant & Mary Trigger
Laura & Tom Trudeau
Marianne Udow-Phillips & Bill Phillips
West Michigan Environmental Action Council
Western Michigan University
Anne & Tom Woiwode